I awake screaming

I wailed and wailed

Then she came to me

She picked me up

Held me close

“What has gone wrong?”

Something bit me, I said

She kissed my forehead

Then fanned my bedside

Like she understood

Put me down to sleep

I was only two months old

And she was there for me

*

I fell and skinned my knee

I cried my small eyes out

Still she came to me

She picked me up

Held me close

“What has gone wrong?”

I skinned my knee, I said

She kissed my head

Cleaned up my knee

Gave me ice cream

I was twelve years old

Still she was there for me

*

It was two days out

I was too angry for words

Throwing fits everywhere

Yet she came to me

She picked me up

Held me close

“What has gone wrong?”

Joe is too annoying

I can’t marry him again

She kissed my forehead

And said yes you can

She was right, at twenty two

Yet she was there for me

*

I was on the floor rolling

Pain squeezed my heart dry

Again she came to me

She picked me up

Held me close

“What has gone wrong?”

I had a miscarriage, I said

Tears slid down my cheeks

She kissed my forehead

The next one will stay, she said

And she was right

Again at thirty two

She was there for me
*

No o o o o o I shouted

This is not happening

Quickly she came to me

She picked me up

Held me close

“What has gone wrong?”

My husband is dead, I said

Tears slid down my cheeks

She kissed my forehead

And whispered softly

All will be well, she said

At forty two, she was there for me

*

My children are grown

I have advanced in age

My fears and pains

I have conquered them all

Never alone, thankful for help

Now here she lay

Taking her final rest

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust

I miss her already

Why did she have to go?

Through my sixty two years

She was always there

MY HERO, MY MOTHER.

*

***Extracts from the book ‘A Missmatch OF Feelings”  by Elizabeth Edemode (coming soon)***

***

Hope you all had a lovely and happy Mothering Sunday. I did. And so did my mom. I pray that God keeps them for us and helps us to constantly make them proud. For those who have lost their moms, I pray that God will comfort you and be the nurturer you need.

On a random note, is it Mothers Day, Mother’s Day or Mothers’ Day?

Have a great week all.

Temiville.xoxo

