Love is patient;

Sometimes you are slow; slow in responding to my messages; slow in asking me what bothers me; slow in telling me you love me. Sometimes when I say ‘I’m fine’ you ignorantly believe and never persist. You don’t magically read my mind understanding my every nervous blink, my sudden frown, my silent tear or my hidden worries but I love you by being patient for love is patient. Sometimes you are impatient with me and I am ever so tempted to flare up and lose my patience in return but I hold back for I love you by showing patience. Sometimes you do things that make me wonder why I am here with you. But I know I heard Him right when He told me you are the one. And so I am patient for I love you and my love is patient.

 Love is kind;

I itch to pay you back in your coin at times. I burn to let you know how it feels to be hurt. I want to starve you and make you beg.  But I love you and love is kind. I want to tell you your younger cousins cannot stay in our home for more than 2 weeks but I know they need to stay longer and I also know how much they mean to you. So I let them because I love you and my love is kind.

Love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude;

I want to let you know how intelligent of me it was to give you that business contact that has now worked well. I want to flaunt my wisdom in your face. I want to make it clear that without me, you might not have attained this height. But then I remember: no more are we twain. For what is yours is mine and your success is mine and I love you.

Love does not insist on its own way;

I don’t  understand why we can’t have brown and cream interiors. I don’t see the need for a brand new car when cars from the States are just as good as new without the price tag. But I now know that I cannot view things with my two eyes alone but now with four. I have learned to think for two and not just for myself and what seems right to me because I love you and love does not insist on its own

Love is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

I could go on and on about how many things my flesh want me to do but my spirit chides me gently, telling me it is wrong.

I have learned the art of love from He who loved me enough to send His son to die and from the son who loved me enough to accept such a seemingly ludicrous plan. I have learned love from a God who keeps taking me back even when I consciously, knowingly, purposely go astray.

I have learned the art of love from a mother who has sacrificed her everything to make me what I am today. A mother, who would rather starve than watch any of her kids lack even things we know are not essential. I have learned love from a father who would spend three nights neither eating nor drinking but rather praying to God for his children’s well being.

I have learned the art of love from you, from your openness, your kindness, your giving nature, your understanding heart. How then could I not totally, completely, helplessly love you?

Love is not this feeling I feel. It is this decision I have made and to which I  will stick. It neither depends on how I feel nor does it hinge on how you behave.

I have learned the art of love and I am practising it like my life depends on my performance…

I Corinthians 13

***Hi guys, no better place to learn about love than from the Bible. No better teacher than God. Guys let’s learn to love the way God loves. Not just in the romantic sense, as it expressed in this poem but also in our day to day dealings. God bless you!

Have a great stress-free week!

Temiville.xoxo

