Hi people!!! How you dey? 🙂 I’ve had an extremely busy weekend, hence my silence. There was a workers’ meeting in the land of the Brummies that all went for in the morning on Saturday after which it was straight to choir practice. There was no breather at all… That meeting however was entirely worth the almost two hours’ wait we endured before its start. The speaker had us thinking deep. He challenged me in ways I cannot even begin to describe…yet. I will definitely do so soon, when the time is right. One thing I can however say is that he challenged how much of light I give off as a Christian, how much of an impact I have in this world and this perfectly goes with what I had in mind to muse on today.

In a recent post, we discussed the importance and significance of being the Salt of the Earth as mentioned by Jesus in Matthew 5:13-16.  Today, we will focus on Jesus’ statement that

14 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

 

 

Light...

What does this imply? Isaiah 60 tells us to Arise, shine, your light has come, and the glory of the Lord rests upon you …nations will come to your light and kings to the brightness of your dawn. (Isaiah 60:1,3).  Jesus said: ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life’. (John 8:12)

This means that Jesus is the Light. When we follow Jesus, we reflect what He reflects. As light, we have no option but to shine. When we stop shining, we are no longer light. We have a duty to shine. We have a responsibility to guide and show the way. We must step into a place and automatically, eyes become open to the realities of evil.

***

Let us cast our minds back to the story of the 5 foolish virgins in Matthew 25. They had their lamps and were patiently waiting for the bridegroom. This signifies that they were ‘good’. They were Christians of this age. They go to Church, pay their tithe, the whole works. The problem however is that they did not shine when darkness fell upon them. Why is this? They had insufficient oil. They were short in the supply of what would enable them shine.

The same goes for us. 2010’s oil will not see us through 2011. Yesterday’s prayer and fasting might be insufficient for today’s challenges. We ought to be filled with fresh oil in order for our light to keep shining. We need to stay connected to the source of our light. This is the Spirit of God. People need to see Christ in us, the hope of glory.

Romans 8: 19 says that ‘For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God’. Who are these sons of God? In Romans 8:14, we are told that ‘For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God’ and John 1:12 says that ‘But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, [even] to them that believe on his name’. People are waiting to see us manifest His glory. They might appear like they are mocking your faith but they actually respect you and in a strange way, look to you. We must therefore keep shining by staying connected to our source, Jesus.

The reason why we shine is for others to see our good works and glorify God, not us. All glory must be to the Lord. The minute we start lapping up praises for shining, there is a problem. We are as good as the pharisees who displayed their works so that people may praise them.

 

 

Salt and Light

I pray that God will keep on helping and giving us wisdom  to shine in this world  and be the salt of the earth and that all the glory be returned to Him…alone.

 

RANDOM FACT ABOUT ME:

 

'Lefty'

I am left handed. I do everything with my left hand, everything. I remember back in Naij, when I go to the market to buy stuff, the market women would totally refuse to take money off me because I offered it with my left hand. I think we need to move past that mehn!

 

 

:p

RANDOM CONFESSION:

In Sheffield, there is this lady who goes about singing hymns at the top of her voice in the city centre, on the buses, in the tram, everywhere. On the tram, for instance, I usually just sit there not knowing whether to join in her loud ‘How great Thou art!’ or to ignore her like everyone else does. So I usually would just smile at her and proceed to look at my fingers. What would you do were you in my stilettos? Would you join in and sing or encourage her telling her to keep it up or ‘carry your face away’ praying that that would not be an ‘if you are ashamed of Me’ moment because you know very well you’d be in  soup? I have more questions but I’d just leave it at this for now.


Off to do my round of blog-stalking. Shanday-http://shanday.wordpress.com/,  http://www.mynewhitmanwrites.com/,  http://angelsbeauty.wordpress.com/, http://bukville.com/, http://www.lightherlamp.com/…watch out! 🙂

Temiville.xoxo

