Hi people! How are you doing? Hope you’re having a lovely week. The way things are going so fast is frankly amazing. It is Thursday already!!! *gasps* Thanks for visiting and dropping all your comments on the blog. I see every single one of them and sincerely appreciate the time it takes for you to sit and write them out. It is what keeps me going and driven. Thanks people!!! God bless you.

I am going to keep this post very short and straight to the point. I have been discovering certain things in the Bible which I’d like to discuss with you guys and also seek out your views on.

 

FINDING 1

Okay, I’m aware I can be quite dramatic but please the first one, I found quite shocking. I was reading the book of Joel and something literally shook me to my roots. The source of surprise is in Joel 2: 25. It reads,

And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten, the cankerworm, and the caterpiller, and the palmerworm, my great army which I sent among you.

So what exactly did I find shocking? God Himself sent these plagues to His people. What? God sends evil down people’s ways? I thought that was the devil’s department. Is it not the devil who stresses us and makes life hard? Well, sometimes God too can cause a man to go through hard times. Disobedience to God leads to grief. Therefore, the devil’s bit in the equation is to ensure you disobey God’s laws. But it is God Himself that visits His punishment on man…

 

 

” …my great army which I sent among you.”


Therefore, what this demonstrates is that sometimes we need not focus on principalities and powers but instead ask for mercy and mercy only. You cannot send God’s army away with your prayers. Only God Himself can send His army away by His issuance of a command, one word.

 

FINDING 2

So many times, I have screamed, ‘I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me’ in response to any challenge upon my ability to excel and succeed in life. Something took me to the actual passage in the Bible in order to understand why Paul said what he said. It can be found in Philippians 4: 10-13. It reads,

 

But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity. 11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.


I was really shocked upon reading it. So in fact, Paul was referring to being able to suffer lack and live in penury when he said that! I wonder how many of us will be quick to chant that verse when we face challenges in life. But yet, I believe that is what such verses are for and are not merely for claiming ‘happy things’.

 

FINDING 3

Let’s take a moment to dwell on Philippians 4:19,

But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

 

We often quote it to prove that we cannot lack. However, I discovered something that makes me conclude that we might be quoting it in an incomplete manner. Ok, first, note it is a statement directed by one person, Paul to another party, the Philippians. He was praying for them. He was blessing them. Why? Because of their good works. Because of the way they provided for him. Because of their giving nature.

I love the New Living Translation of verses 15-20 of the very same Chapter:

15 As you know, you Philippians were the only ones who gave me financial help when I first brought you the Good News and then traveled on from Macedonia. No other church did this. 16 Even when I was in Thessalonica you sent help more than once17 I don’t say this because I want a gift from you. Rather, I want you to receive a reward for your kindness.

18 At the moment I have all I need—and more! I am generously supplied with the gifts you sent me with Epaphroditus. They are a sweet-smelling sacrifice that is acceptable and pleasing to God. 19 And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.

20 Now all glory to God our Father forever and ever! Amen.

This part of the Bible makes it clear that giving births blessing. No matter how much we are claiming that verse of the Bible, we need to follow basic principles so as to reap the fruits of our confession. No amount of chanting Phil 4:19 and yet living a stingy lifestyle can bring about abundance. We need to be unrepentant givers and sowers.

Do you have a different take on these verses or do you know any other verses that have shocking deeper meanings than how they are frequently quoted?

Let’s muse people!

Temiville.xoxo

