Aloha people! Kilon pop? Hope y’all are enjoying yourselves. I am loving these last few weeks of the year and my heart is absolutely filled with gratitude to God for His constant love. Our God, indeed, is an awesome God.

I’m going to share something with you guys today and pretty much seek your opinion on the issue. Here goes…

*******

A friend, Oseremi calls me and has a full length rant about how she is breaking up with her boyfriend of 5 months. After narrating the whole story of how he was still in love with his ex, she ended by solemnly proclaiming,

‘Never again am I going into a relationship with a guy whose last relationship was longer than 3 months…okay, max 10 months! For real mehn, they are just bad news, constantly comparing you with his ex, giving stories of how much fun they had and other randomness of gists you really don’t care a hoot for’. She went on and on.

Hmmn. I feel bad for her because I know she is not one to enter into a relationship lightly and she she had jejelly been single for 4 years because her motto is ‘There really no point being with someone you are not 100% sure of’. The person she was finally ‘100% sure of’ came in the form of Onose. I kinda suspected sha that the guy was a ‘no no’ but trust me, it is not from my mouth that you will hear that the teacher’s mother has tooth infection. So I did what I know to be wise and instead, prayed for her that she should see the light.

What exactly was the problem with Onose? Well, nothing in particular. In fact, he is a correct person. He’s extremely friendly, God fearing, dresses well, speaks well, the whole works but there’s just one ‘however’. His Facebook is sprinkled with photos of himself and his ex which he has point blank refused to delete. He claims they remain ‘bosom’ friends and therefore, it will be wrong to delete the pictures (and one video sef). To add extra heat to the already burning situation, Onose and his ex, Miriam abi Mariam (I’m not certain) were together for 3.5 years! That is long mate! Even after 8 months of break up, her pictures are everywhere, his laptop, his phone and his Facebook. Well not everywhere, just those three very important locations.

Happy looking pictures all over FB!

I’ m no soothsayer or fortune teller but really, you wouldn’t have needed those to know that Oseremi was heading nowhere with this relationship. Onose and Miriam were still as close as ever. They would call each other when the other was in trouble etc.

It was this same Oseremi that gave me the gist of how one day, Onose received a call from Miriam when they watching Inception in Odeon. He ignored the call at first and then he received a text that read, ‘urgent, abeg pick!!!’. Our brother did not even chill to receive the call, he left the cinema hall to go outside to call her. According to her, he left when the first dream started and did not come back until when the girl agreed to go into the dream (or whatever, I never understood Inception anyways). The point is that they spent ages on the phone whilst he was supposed to be on a date with a girl who barely just said ‘yes’.

My friend, understandably, was seething however as a sharp girl, she knew better than to nag. When they were going home, she asked him what happened. He said Miriam was having issues with her dad and was getting frustrated. As he was about to drive, his phone rang again and yes, you guessed right, it was indeed Miriam. Our dear Onose prayed and prayed and prayed for Miriam on the phone. I think she said he even spoke in tongues, ‘I can assure you, it will all be fine. You go and talk to dad, I know him. He will relax’. At that point, Oseremi was weak.’ ‘Dad’ keh?’, she wondered.

Anyway, the overall point is that she eventually got the hint from him that he was not exactly over Miriam. She then broke up with him  on the grounds that he and his ex were behaving like they were still in a relationhip. The sad part is that he didn’t even beg or protest. He didn’t deny it either. He just said, ‘I understand’.

All I could do was listen to her speak and then do what I know to do which is pray. I said a short prayer for her and in my prayer, I thanked God that she found out now and not 2 years into their relationship. She felt better after we spoke but the whole thing got me musing.

********

I personally don’t think Oseremi’s decision never to date a guy whose last relationship is longer than 10 months is the solution to all this brouhaha. Although, I know exactly where she is coming from. I believe she did not take out enough time to get to know him. I believe in praying. I also believe in watching. I, as a third party, could tell that Onose was still into his ex. Come on! The Facebook issue was a clear give away. He constantly posts things on her wall like ‘have a good day’, ‘how is Rita (Miriam’s sister), tell her I’m sorry I could not make it to her grad, I called but she did not pick’. In fact, her entire clan was his friend on Facebook. He called her father ‘dad’. What other hint did she need, really?

Like I said earlier, it could have been worse. We bless God for every little blessing…

***This is an approved blog post by Oseremi***

On a different note, in the spirit of the end of the year, I thought to share my best ‘end of year’ song… Enjoy

Who remembers these lyrics? Deeper Life in Gbagada used to sing it loads towards the end of each year,

Another year is dawning, dear Father, let it be
In working or in waiting, another year with Thee.
Another year of progress, another year of praise,
Another year of proving Thy presence all the days.

Another year of mercies, of faithfulness and grace,
Another year of gladness in the shining of Thy face;
Another year of leaning upon Thy loving breast;
Another year of trusting, of quiet, happy rest.

Another year of service, of witness for Thy love,
Another year of training for holier work above.
Another year is dawning, dear Father, let it be
On earth, or else in Heaven, another year for Thee.

As you know, I no dey carry last in Yoruba Movie watching…
Loving this one at the moment though I have been told I shouldn’t hold my breath in anticipation of a great ending…

That’s all folks (for now)

Temiville.xoxo

