Life is going fast. Time waits for no one. I remember being 14 vividly and I used  to regard those in their 20s as old. 10 years down the line and I’m that old person! It really scares me sometimes when I think about the fact that my mom is in her 60s now and my dad is beginning to eye his 70s.  It scares me that my brothers with whom I used to sit in the living room, gisting about how annoying UK Gold was and play cards are all grown men with their own responsibilities. It scares me that some of my friends who used to play ‘catcher’ and ‘ten-ten’ with me are now mothers.

It scares me that in a five years, I’ll almost be 30. It scares me that in 5 years my dad will be 70 and ‘old’. It scares me that I will have to push out a baby from my body. It scares me that I will have to marry in faith not being able to know EVERYTHING about my future. It scares me that my daughters will be teenagers and be exposed to this wicked world. It scares me that my son will be in a society where so many ills exist.

It scares me that in 10 years’ time, we will still need generator in Nigeria. It scares me that gangs will still keep murdering the likes of Damilola Taylor and Samuel Adelagun who was murdered yesterday in Plaistow, London. It scares me that one day I will bury my parents. It scares me that one day my children will bury me.

Late Sam

Someone sent me a Hi-5 friend request and I literally was speechless for a few seconds before deleting the message. ‘What planet are you on?’, I wondered. It scares me that there might be nicer social networking sites than Twitter and Facebook in 15 years’ time which I would not understand and my kids will now think I’m not ‘cool’.

It scares me that I might ever put on any dress larger than a size 10 after childbirth. It scares me that I might not look as hot as Omotola after 4 kids.

Omotola

It scares me that my husband will go out in the morning and girls like I saw in this movie will be his secretary.

Loads of things have the potential to frighten me. But then I remember that God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power, of love and of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7).

Whenever these thoughts begin to approach my mind, I start meditating on God’s promises in His Word.

The Lord is my Light and my Salvation–whom shall I fear or dread? The Lord is the Refuge and Stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid? Psalm 27: 1.

The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me Hebrews 13:6.

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love 1 John 4:18.

Say to those who are of a fearful and hasty heart, Be strong, fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance; with the recompense of God He will come and save youIsaiah 35: 4.

Please listen to this encouraging song: 

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness Isaiah 41:10.

All these build me up  in my faith (Jude 1:20). Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God (Romans 10:17).

So whenever worries and cares and anxieties come knocking, kick back with the Word of God, it never fails. It is so easy to worry. But it never changes or prevents evil. Only faith moves God. Have faith!

That’s all folks (for now)

Temiville.xoxo

